Biarritz's lighthouse
19 December 2018

Priorities of the G7 presidency

France will take up the G7 Presidency on 1 January 2019 and will be organising the G7 Summit taking place from 24 to 26 August 2019. On 18 December 2018, Jean-Yves Le Drian presented the Summit’s main priorities in Biarritz, the city where it is set to be held.


The French Presidency’s major focuses will centre on five goals to eliminate inequalities, the guiding principle of its priorities: eliminating inequalities of fate; reduction of environmental inequalities; promotion of fairer and more equitable trade, tax and development policies; action for peace, against security threats and terrorism; and best use of the opportunities provided by digital technology and artificial intelligence.

1. against inequalities

Increasing levels of inequality are a serious threat to social cohesion and economic development to the benefit of all. France puts reduction of inequalities and the social aspects of globalisation at the very heart of the debate. Promotion of such a model constitutes a major policy choice.

2. Renewing the G7 format and mobilising civil society

In the context of national coalitions, the G7 will involve non-G7 countries that share France’s ambitions with regard to its priorities. International organisations will also be integrated, and France will seek to reinforce synergies between them following the impetus given by the President of the Republic during the Paris Peace Forum. The G7 will also open up more to civil society, and systematic consultation of non-State actors is under consideration. The Government will endeavour to mobilise French citizens around the great challenges on which France is determined to make progress.

3. Africa

One of the Biarritz Summit’s key goals will be to strengthen ties with Africa. The alliance will associate African countries most involved in promotion of multilateralism, peace and regional integration, along with those which are leading the field with regard to climate action.

4. Gender equality and education

On this subject, which is also one of the major causes of the President’s five-year term, the G7 will be adopting a “Biarritz Pact for Equality”. As a response to the increase in inequalities, the G7 must also act with determination in the fields of education – of girls in particular and first and foremost in the Sahel – and health.

5. Climate and biodiversity

The G7 will be tackling environmental inequalities, emphasising France’s commitment to the Paris Agreement and focusing on “climate finance” and protection of biodiversity, as well as on preservation of the oceans, following on from the Canadian Presidency.

6. Digital technology and artificial intelligence (AI)

Questions regarding digital technology (cybersecurity, competition, taxation and impact on employment) and artificial intelligence will be approached in the presence of major non-European democracies: India, South Africa, Mexico and Australia.

7. Policy and security subjects

The G7 must continue to coordinate its members’ efforts to eliminate terrorism (implementation of the Paris Agenda on the financing of terrorism, and list of commitments to eliminate use of the Internet for terrorist purposes, and foreign terrorists), in particular on the African continent.

As regards financial matters, France will be taking up the G7 Presidency in a troubled multilateral economic context, which is why it will be promoting cooperation between G7 countries to ensure regulated, fairer and more equitable globalisation, based on three pillars:

1.  Strengthening of the international financial system and its resilience, in a context of resurgence of risks.

2. Promotion of equitable rule-based globalisation. One of the top priorities in this field will be to step up the elimonation of tax-optimisation phenomena and tax havens. Another major focus will be on the challenges posed by digitisation of the economy, in particular as regards competition.

3.  Finally, France will contribute to promotion of more inclusive growth and more efficient development.

G7: creation and objectives
The Group of Seven (G7) comprises seven countries (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States), whose Heads of State and Government meet at an annual summit. The European Union is jointly represented by the President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission. The G7 is an informal group with no legal existence, permanent secretariat or ex-officio members; it is the annual rotating Presidency, held by one of the seven countries, which provides the resources required for the group’s work.
Created at France’s initiative in the context of the crisis resulting from the first oil shock, the G7 enables dialogue (with no specific protocol) between the world’s greatest economic powers in order to facilitate coordination of economic and financial policies, mobilising a wide range of experts, political leaders and members of civil society throughout the year. The G7 summit must result in signature of a final communiqué, which enacts new measures to be implemented. Over the years, the G7’s multilateral dimension has helped established a collective framework for better regulation of globalisation.
Since the group’s creation, France has hosted six G7 summits: Rambouillet in 1975, Versailles in 1982, Paris (Arche de la Défense) in 1989, Lyon in 1996, Évian in 2003, and Deauville in 2011.

Find out more on the official G7 website


Latest news