General Delegate of the Cannes Film Festival Thierry Fremaux (L) and French Culture Minister Francoise Nyssen (3rdL) greet (From 2ndL) French actress Myriam Boyer, French actress Marine Vacth, French director Francois Ozon, Belgian actor Jeremie Renier and British actress Jacqueline Bisset as they arrive on May 26, 2017 for the screening of the film 'L'Amant Double' (Amant Double) at the 70th edition of the Cannes Film Festival in Cannes, southern France.
31 May 2017

70th Cannes International Film Festival: Congratulations to the winners!

The Minister of Culture extended her warmest congratulations to all the winners at the 70th edition of the Cannes International Film Festival, whose Jury was chaired by Pedro Almodovar.
In particular, Françoise Nyssen congratulated Ruben Östlund, winner of the Palme d’Or for his film The Square. She extended her warmest congratulations to the French director Robin Campillo, who won the Grand Prix for his film 120 Battements par Minute, which puts audiences alongside the activists of the Act Up association in the midst of the devastating AIDS epidemic of the early 1990s. On 27 May, his film was also awarded the International Federation of Film Critics prize. Also in the spotlight were Sofia Coppola, who was awarded the Best Director prize for her film The Beguiled, and Andreï Zviaguintsev for Loveless, winner of the Jury Prize. Françoise Nyssen also congratulated the French director Léonor Serraille, who won the Camera d’Or for her entry Jeune Femme.

The Best Actress award went to Diane Kruger in Fatih Akin’s In the Fade. Joaquim Phoenix won the Best Actor award in Lynne Ramsay’s film You Were Never Really Here, while the 70th Cannes Festival Prize was awarded to Nicole Kidman. Françoise Nyssen extended her warmest congratulations to them all.

French films rake in the awards

French cinema won a good many awards again this year in addition to the Grand Prix and Camera d’Or: the Critics’ Week Grand Prix went to Emmanuel Gras’ documentary Makala. The Directors’ Fortnight rewarded Léa Mysius and Paul Guilhaume’s screenplay for Ava. Claire Denis’ Un beau soleil intérieur and Philippe Garrel’s L'amant d'un jour won the SACD prize for the best French-speaking feature-length film. Mathieu Amalric’s Barbara was among the winners of the “Un Certain Regard” selection, obtaining the prize for Poetry in Film. And finally, the Oeil d’or, a prize awarded to the best documentary presented in all of the various selections, was awarded to Agnès Varda and JR’s Visages Villages.

Françoise Nyssen also applauded the festival’s President Pierre Lescure and its General Delegate Thierry Frémaux. Despite the recent attack on British youth in Manchester, they reacted appropriately and in a spirit of solidarity, while celebrating the Cannes International Film Festival’s 70th birthday.

Once again, France has demonstrated the part it plays in upholding and supporting a living, audacious and varied cinematic art.

The Figures for French Cinema